GB Universities Delegation Announced for 2019 EUSA Rowing Championships

The European Universities Games take place in Jönköping, Sweden from 4 to 7 September


Reading's winning women's quad from EUSA 2018

A squad of 50 rowers and 12 coaches/support team will form the British Universities delegation to compete at the European Universities Games in Jönköping, Sweden from 4 to 7 September.

The crews, from 11 Universities, were selected having finished in the top four of a Championship event at BUCS Regatta in May. At the 2018 EUSA Games, the GB Universities Rowing Team won six gold, six silver and five bronze, finishing as lead nation.

Over a quarter of the GB Rowing Team racing at the World Rowing Championships in Austria this week raced at a EUSA Rowing Championships earlier in their rowing careers including Tom Barras (Cardiff), Polly Swann (Edinburgh), Imogen Grant (Cambridge) and James Rudkin (Newcastle).

Reading has 12 athletes across four boats with many returners from last year’s successful crews.  Chloe Knight and Lucy Ryan won a gold medal in the quad and silver in the double last year and will be looking to repeat their success racing in the double this year. Meanwhile, George Lawton and Rory Harris, who won gold in the men’s double last year, will race in the quad this year alongside Sean O’Mahony and Edoardo Marshall.

The British delegation includes two entries in the men’s single scull, Sam McKeown representing Queen’s Belfast and Matt Brigham representing Leeds. Sam won bronze at the 2017 EUSA Rowing Championships and last year claimed gold at the World University Rowing Championships in Shanghai. Meanwhile, Matt, who finished second to Sam at the BUCS Regatta, was the talk of Henley Royal Regatta this year when he beat current Olympic, and five-time World Champion, Mahe Drysdale from New Zealand.

GB will also field two entries in the women’s single scull. 2019 Boat Race winner Pippa Whittaker will race in the light blue colours of Cambridge, and Fiona Bell will represent Queen’s Belfast. Both scullers have a raft of previous international racing experience.

Imperial will field a squad of 16 students in six different boats. Having won bronze in the women’s four last year, Pippa England will race in a coxless pair this year, alongside Daisy Bethell. In 2018, Imperial won gold in the men’s eight and this year will be represented across all of the openweight men’s sweep categories.

Full details of the 2019 European Rowing Championships can be seen at

Progress of the GB Universities Team can be followed on Twitter @GBUniversities.


GB Universities Rowing Team 2019

University of Bath

Laura Macro – LW1x

University of Cambridge

Catherine King, Gemma King – W2-

Pippa Whittaker – W1x

Durham University

Charlie Spink – M1x

University of Glasgow

Ethan Matthews, Pedro Menezes – LM2-

Imperial College London (M8, M4-, W4-, M2-, W2-, LM1x)

Edward Bentley, Daisy Bethell, Tiphaine Cayol, Ella Cope, Naomi Doye, Pippa England, Jonah Harris, James Harrison, Milford Killian-Dawson, Robert Kinnier Wilson, Ben Moore, Naom Mouelle, Gledisa Musollari, Max Ridgwell, Thomas Smith, Jack Walsh

Coach: Jamie Kirkwood

University of Leeds

Matthew Brigham – M1x

Coach: Matt Paul

University of Leicester

Camilla Plumb – LW1x

Coach: James Plumb

University of Nottingham (LM2x & LM2-, LW1x)

Lewis Howlett, James Lawn – LM2x & LM2-

Lucy Gillbanks – LW1x

University of Oxford

Arthur Arnould, James Featherstone, Edward Lamb, Nicholas Ryan – LM4-

Anneloes Hoff, Naomi Holland, Caitlin O’Brien, Eleanor Watts – LW4x

Coaches: Chris O’Hara (Women), Sam Wells (Men)

Queen’s University Belfast (M1x, W1x)

Fiona Bell – W1x

Samuel McKeown – M1x

Coach: Peter Dick

University of Reading

Rory Harris, George Lawton, Edoardo Marshal, Sean O’Mahony – M4x

Francesca Bailey Tate, Sophie Lewis, Kate Lyster, Emily May – W4x

Alex Badcott, Joe Pitt – M2x

Chloe Knight, Lucy Ryan – W2x

Coaches: Chris Bartley, Will Rand, Charlotte Taylor

Management & Support Team

James Lee – Team Manager

Katy Young – Assistant Team Manager

Fiona Rennie – Finance Assistant

Jamie Smith – Driver

Sam Wells – Driver