Which GB Rowing Team athletes will be competing at Henley Royal Regatta 2018?

Close to 50 GB Rowing Team senior squad athletes will be competing at Henley Royal Regatta, where they will represent their clubs


(Photo: Naomi Baker)

The GB Rowing Team senior squads will be well represented at Henley Royal Regatta in 2018, with 48 athletes set to race the 2,112m course at the historic event.

A number of crews that raced at the recent World Rowing Cup in Linz remain unchanged, including the double scull pairing of Angus Groom and Jack Beaumont, with the latter going for his seventh Henley win and his second in the Double Sculls Challenge Cup.

Harry Glenister, who in 2017 pipped Beaumont to becoming the first rower to win all three quadruple sculls titles at the regatta, has switched his attention to sweep this season and will have a chance to take his fifth overall title. He’ll race in Silver Goblets & Nickalls Challenge Cup men’s pair event with Leander Club teammate George Rossiter.

John Collins is aiming for his sixth win and a defence of his Queen Mother Challenge Cup title in the quadruple scull alongside Jonny Walton, Graeme Thomas and Tom Barras.

Fresh off the back of their bronze medal in the women’s pair in Linz, Rowan McKellar and Hattie Taylor team up again in the Hambledon Pairs Challenge Cup, with the women’s quad also unchanged from Austria as Mathilda Hodgkins Byrne, Zoe Lee, Jess Leyden and Melissa Wilson are set to race.

The women’s eight features seven changes from the crew that finished fourth in Linz, with silver medallists in the women’s four Fiona Gammond, Holly Norton, Karen Bennett and Rebecca Shorten among those coming in.

And the men’s eight is the same as the one that won silver in Linz, featuring Olympic champions Tom Ransley, Will Satch and Moe Sbihi.

The Henley Royal Regatta gives the GB athletes the chance to compete for their clubs in composite crews.

GB Rowing Team entries to Henley Royal Regatta

Princess Royal Challenge Cup (W1x)
Crew A – Vicky Thornley (Leander Club)
Crew B – Alice Baatz (Agecroft RC)

Princess Grace Challenge Cup (W4x)
Crew name: Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC/Imperial College BC
Mathilda Hodgkins Byrne (Reading Univ. BC)
Zoe Lee (Imperial College BC)
Jess Leyden (Leander Club)
Melissa Wilson (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC)

Hambledon Pairs Challenge Cup (W2-)
Rowan McKellar (Leander Club)
Hattie Taylor (Leander Club)

Town Challenge Cup (W4-)
Univ. of London BC/Agecroft BC
Rebecca Chin (Agecroft RC)
Caragh McMurtry (Coalporters ARC)
Sara Parfett (Univ. of London BC)
Jo Wratten (Leander Club)

Leander Club/Bath Univ. BC
Sam Courty (Univ. of Bath BC)
Georgia Francis (Imperial College BC)
Emily Ford (Leander Club)
Emily Ashford (Leander Club)

Remenham Challenge Cup (W8+)
Leander Club/Univ. of London BC
Anastasia Chitty (Leander Club)
Katherine Douglas (Leander Club)
Holly Hill (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC)
Rebecca Girling (Molesey BC)
Karen Bennett (Leander Club)
Holly Norton (Leander Club)
Fiona Gammond (Leander Club)
Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC)
Cox – Matilda Horn (Univ. of London BC)

Double Sculls Challenge Cup (M2x)
Angus Groom (Leander Club)
Jack Beaumont (Leander Club)

Queen Mother Challenge Cup (M4x)
Leander Club/Agecroft RC
John Collins (Leander Club)
Jonny Walton (Leander Club)
Graeme Thomas (Agecroft RC)
Tom Barras (Leander Club)

Silver Goblets & Nickalls Challenge Cup (M2-)
Crew A
Harry Glenister (Leander Club)
George Rossiter (Leander Club)

Crew B
James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC)
Josh Bugajski (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC)

Stewards’ Challenge Cup (M4-)
Leander Club
Tom Ford (Leander Club)
Jacob Dawson (Leander Club)
Adam Neill (Leander Club)
James Johnston (Leander Club)

Grand Challenge Cup (M8+)
Leander Club/Molesey BC
Tom George (Leander Club)
Tom Jeffery (Leander Club)
Ollie Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club)
Tom Ransley (Leander Club)
Moe Sbihi (Molesey BC)
Alan Sinclair (Leander Club)
Matthew Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC)
Will Satch (Leander Club)
Cox – Henry Fieldman (Leander Club)