Olympic Champions go head to head at WEHORR

Close to a dozen Olympic medallists will take to the Thames next week, as entries were today revealed for the 2014 Women’s Eights Head of the River Race.

Five of Team GB’s six female gold medallists from the London 2012 Olympic Games are set to compete on the Tideway, including Katherine Grainger and Anna Watkins in a star-studded Masters crew.

Watkins and Grainger, who claimed a memorable gold medal in the women’s double sculls at Eton Dorney in 2012 (pictured), will be joined by a blockbuster selection of Olympic Champions, Olympians and former international rowers in a composite crew representing Clydesdale ARC, Molesey BC, Leander, Marlow RC, Tideway Scullers School BC and Thames RC.

The GB Rowing Team’s current stars, meanwhile, will be going head to head in the Elite category.

Leander’s top crew – including double Olympic silver medallist Fran Houghton – will be taking on a composite crew containing three London 2012 gold medallists: Helen Glover, Heather Stanning and Katherine Copeland.

In total, 291 crews are set to take part in the 74th annual WEHORR which, weather permitting, will take place at 3.30pm on Saturday 15th March.

Amongst an entry containing crews from across the UK, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and France will be rowing stalwart Pauline Rayner, who will be celebrating the 60th anniversary of her first appearance at WEHORR.

For a closer look at the entry for the 2014 WEHORR, visit www.wehorr.org/documents/PressRelease-Draw14.pdf.

More information about the event can be found at www.wehorr.org/, and you can keep up to date with the latest news from the event organisers on Twitter @wehorr.