The North of England Head of the River Race 75th Anniversary

Royal Chester Rowing Club 1935 crew winning the North of England Head of the River

The North of England Head of the River Race was first rowed in 1935 and was
organised on the lines of the Mortlake to Putney race established a decade
earlier.  A dozen crews entered the first race which was won by Thames Rowing
Club in 18min 35secs and Agecroft RC winning time in 2009 was 15min

5000m race is held on the River Dee at Chester and organised by Royal Chester
Rowing Club, originally for eights the race has expanded to include junior

Before the Second World War the event was dominated by the students of
Cambridge University, Clare College twice and Jesus once before Dublin
University won in 1939.

the war the Downing College and London RC crews shared the wins with the first
win for a northwest crew coming from Northwich RC in 1951.  The Race organisers
Royal Chester produced wins in 52 and 53 then dead heating with Durham
University in 1954.

Durham went on to win 4 more times in the period up to 1960 with
interruptions from Royals and King School Chester.

to the present day other clubs winning the coveted Trophy include Hollingworth Lake
RC, Nottingham University, Royal Shrewsbury School, Derby RC, Nottingham County
and Agecroft RC who will be rowing this year for their 5th
consecutive win and their 16th
in the series.

than in the war years the race has only been cancelled once, in 2001 due to Foot
and Mouth restrictions.  This will be
70th race and to celebrate clubs who have won the event in the past 75 years are
being offered free entry for one

The event is on Saturday
20th March, poster and details at