National Competition Review Workshops

Event organisers, aspiring organisers and club coaches are invited to attend one of the regional workshops being set up to help shape the future of British Rowing’s competition structure.  The sport wants your input in considering how we develop a new structure with a greater deregulation of the more casual part of the competition structure.

The workshops will begin with a presentation, followed by a number of group sessions to provide an opportunity to contribute and express your ideas.  The outcome from all the sessions will inform the way forward.


We are offering two places per club/event initially, however if you have a third member who wishes to attend please add their name to the reserve list (see the link to online booking below) and we will include as many as possible depending on the demand for places. 

The aim is to get as broad and creative a view as possible.  In the recent survey many of our younger rowers said that they wanted more flexible competition and if you have any keen young people who might be our event organisers of the future please bring them along.    Read the report from Council for more background.

There are five sessions planned in January and February 2014 at the venues listed below.  Each session will last three hours from 1.30pm – 4.30pm.  Coffee and tea will be served from 1.00pm.

Peterborough Rowing Club – Saturday 18th January
Worcester Rugby Club – Sunday 16th February
Walton Rowing Club – Saturday 25th January
Hollingworth Lake – Sunday 2nd February
Hughes Parry Hall, University of London – Sunday 9th February

Bookings will be via the online booking system, and each workshop will close for applications a week before they are due to take place. After booking we will forward a few pre-event questions to assist us and you to prepare for the session.

This is an exciting opportunity to develop our competition structure.  We hope you are able to attend one of the sessions and take part in shaping the future of our sport.  

Fiona Dennis
Chairman National Competition Committee