Athletes selected for U23 European Championships

26 athletes have been selected to represent Great Britain in six events at the 2023 European Rowing Under 23 Championships taking place from 26-27 August in Krefeld, Germany


A handful of the athletes (Toby Lassen, Angharad Broughton, Evelyna Davies, Hannah Supple and Ellie Cooke) are returning to the squad after racing at the U23 World Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria last month, with a large number being given the opportunity to wear the GB vest for the first time.

Commenting on the selection, Peter Sheppard, GB Rowing Team (GBRT) Head Coach for the Olympic Pathway said: “The U23 European Championships provide an opportunity for a further cohort of developing athletes not to only continue with their training and development over the summer period but also to get Championship racing experience against some of the best U23s in Europe in a competition environment.”

The crews are coached by Peter Sheppard (GBRT) and Chris Bartley (Reading University BC), unless otherwise stated:

U23 Women’s Single Sculls (BW1x)

Finnola Stratton (Reading University BC/Avon County RC)

U23 Men’s Four (BM4-)

Harry Stevens (Imperial College BC)
Toby Lassen (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Odhran Donaghy (Oxford Brookes University BC)
George Shaw (Imperial College BC)

U23 Women’s Four (BW4-)

Evelyna Davies (Durham University BC)
Della Luke (Marlow RC/University of California, Berkeley)
Jemima Furness (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Angharad Broughton (Molesey BC)

U23 Men’s Quadruple Sculls (BM4x)

Louis Powell (Reading University BC/Lea RC)
Josh Matthews (Edinburgh University BC/Strathclyde Park RC)
Matt Hansen (Tideway Scullers School/Yale University)
Sol Hewitt (Reading University BC)

U23 Women’s Quadruple Sculls (BW4x)

Hannah Supple (Edinburgh University BC)
Ellie Cooke (Reading University BC)
Amy Furlonger (Marlow RC)
Lily Abbott (Molesey BC)

U23 Men’s Eight (BM8+)

Jack Cooper (Oxford Brookes University BC)
George Reed (Durham University BC/Phoenix BC)
Freddy Orpin (Oxford University BC)
Matt Fielding (Leander Club)
Ben Brockway (Newcastle University BC)
Gus John (Durham University BC)
Brett Taylor (Cambridge University BC)
Dan Bradbery (Leander Club/University of California, Berkeley)
James Deardon (cox) (Edinburgh University BC)
Coach: Julian Egan-Shuttler (Newcastle University BC)

Team Support

Coach: Chris Bartley (Reading University BC)
Coach: Julian Egan-Shuttler (Newcastle University BC)
Coach: Peter Sheppard (GBRT)
Assistant Coach: George Nottidge (Kingston RC)
Physiotherapist: Becky Davison
Team Manager: Anna Liddell