Eton Dorney finalists amongst GB Rowing Team for World U23s

Eton Dorney World cup finalists Ertan Hazine, James Cook, Wilf Kimberley, Matt Bedford, Brianna Stubbs and Eleanor Piggott are amongst the crews named today by the GB Rowing Team to compete at the World U23 Championships in Linz, Austria, from 24-28 July.

Hazine and Cook, both from the University of London, will race in the men’s four and eight respectively. Kimberley and Bedford take on the lightweight men’s pair event for the second year in succession, having finished fourth last time round.

Wallingford’s Stubbs and Piggott race the lightweight women’s double scull – an event in which they reached the final and took fourth place at Eton Dorney.

There is also a strong returning contingent from the 2012 event which took place in Trakai, Lithuania, amongst the 46 rowers in 11 boats selected today.

Britain’s eights in Austria feature Cook, James Edwards, of Leander Club, and Sam Arnot and, for the women, Iona Riley, Rebecca Chin, Jo Wratten, Yasmin Tredell and Fiona Gammond. Both eights were fourth in 2011.

George Rossiter and Andy Holmes were in the GB bronze-medal winning four a year ago. Holmes, from Lochwinnoch in Scotland, races in the same boat in Austria, putting his experience into play as a world junior gold medallist and three-times previous World U23 medallist. Rossiter moves into the eight.

Rossiter, Arnot and Tim Clarke, selected into the men’s eight, are part of a strong Newcastle University contingent with the strong North-East flavour continuing through the selections of Durham University’s Stewart Innes, world junior men’s eight silver medallist in 2009, Barney Stentiford, Francis Highton and Angus Groom who finished seventh in the men’s single scull at the GB Rowing Team trials earlier this year.

GB Rowing Team Start rower Marcus Bowyer, from Ottery St Mary in Devon, will race the men’s four with Highton, Hazine and Holmes.

Stentiford, Innes and Groom will race the men’s quadruple scull with Australian Youth Olympic gold medallist Jack Beaumont who raced the double a year ago and was seventh overall.

There is double delight, too, for Start rowers Rebecca Chin and Welshman Zak Lee Green, who is a trainee dentist and rows for Agecroft RC. The duo have been called up into the eight and lightweight single scull respectively in a year when they have also won one of only four Apogee Scholarships on offer for Start rowers.

Chin’s crew-mate Yasmin Tredell, from Oxford Brookes, could have some tips on success close at hand. Her brother Lance has been racing with the GB squad this year. He won gold in Sydney in the men’s eight and raced at the weekend in Lucerne. The same applies to Cook in the men’s eight whose brother Ollie Cook, also from Abingdon School, raced alongside Tredell in Lucerne and was in the GB men’s eight for the World Cup at Eton Dorney last month.

Piggott and Stubbs have been rewarded for their excellent GB Rowing Team Senior Trials and World Cup final placing results this year with selection to the lightweight women’s double scull.

Piggott raced in the lightweight single in 2012 and won the B Final. Timothy Richards, from Imperial College, is the only survivor from last year’s lightweight men’s quad. He races in Austria with Tom Marshall, Charles Waite-Roberts, from the University of West of England, and Joel Cassells but this time in a lightweight four.

A decision will be made about the selection of a lightweight men’s double scull after further testing following the withdrawal through injury last week of one of the rowers in contention for this boat.

The lightweight women’s quadruple scull will be Rosa Atkinson, Emily Craig, Gemma Hall and Ellie Lewis.

U23 World Championships Team 2013





Fiona Gammond (Headington School BC/Bicester/19.10.92)/
Rebecca Chin (Agecroft RC/Salford/11.12.91)/
Josephine Wratten (Tees RC/Yarm/23.03.92)/
Iona Riley (Robert Gordon Uni BC/Aberdeen/17.04.92)/
Yasmin Tredell (Oxford Brookes Uni BC/Evesham/18.11.92)/
Fiona Schlesinger (Molesey BC/New Malden/01.04.91)/
Bethany Bryan (Tees RC/Stockton-on-tees/23.04.93)/
Nicole Lamb (Newcastle Uni BC/Hexham/20.01.93)/
Morgan Baynham-Williams (cox)(Ross RC/Ross-on-Wye/28.06.94)
Coach: James Harris


Katie Bartlett (Nottingham RC/Nottingham/02.02.94)



Francis Highton (Durham Uni BC/Weybridge/10.04.91)/
Ertan Hazine (Uni of London BC/Maidenhead/01.08.91)/
Marcus Bowyer (Exeter RC/West Hill, Devon/02.08.93)/
Andy Holmes (Leander Club/Lochwinnoch/04.10.91)
Coach: Mark Earnshaw

Coxed four

James Martyn Smith (Oxford Brookes Uni BC/Newnham Bridge/26.07.91)/
Callum McBrierty (Durham Uni BC/Edinburgh/13.08.92)/
Edward Williams (Molesey BC/Wylye/13.03.91)/
Lewis McCue (Robert Gordon Uni BC/Aberdeen/26.12.94)/
William Hakim (cox) (Leander Club/25.07.91)
Coach: Angelo Savarino

Quadruple scull

Jack Beaumont (Leander Club/Maidenhead/21.11.93)/
Barnaby Stentiford (Durham Uni BC/Newton Abbot/06.02.91)/
Stewart Innes (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames/20.05.91)/
Angus Groom (Durham Uni BC/Wanborough/16.06.92)
Coach: Matt Beechey


James Cook (Uni of London BC/Windsor/02.07.92)/
Thomas Ford (Newcastle Uni BC/Holmes Chapel/03.10.92)/
Sam Arnot (Newcastle Uni BC/Newcastle-upon-Tyne/09.07.91)/
Timothy Grant (Oxford Brookes Uni BC/Otford/02.07.93)/
Cameron Buchan (Leander Club/03.12.92)/
James Edwards (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames/26.09.91)/
Timothy Clarke (Newcastle Uni BC/Reading/07.04.91)/
George Rossiter (Newcastle Uni BC/Newbury/09.03.92)/
Rory Copus (cox) (Oxford Brookes Uni BC/Wallingford/27.03.91)
Coach: Steve Trapmore



Double scull

Eleanor Piggott (Wallingford RC/Olney/16.05.91)/
Brianna Stubbs (Wallingford RC/Headington/13.07.91)
Coach: Pete Sheppard

Quadruple scull

Rosa Atkinson (Sport Imperial BC/Frodsham/16.11.92)/
Gemma Hall (Newcastle Uni BC/Wargrave/10.04.92)/
Ellie Lewis (Sir William Borlase BC/Marlow/14.04.94)
Emily Craig (Uni of London BC/East Sussex/30.11.92)/
Coach: Phil Gray



Matthew Bedford (Uni of London BC/Maidenhead/21.01.91)/
Wilf Kimberley (Imperial College BC/London/15.07.92)
Coach: Brian Young


Charles Waite-Roberts (W. of England Uni BC/Bristol/06.11.92)/
Tom Marshall (Leander Club/Chester/12.03.94)/
Timothy Richards (Imperial College BC/London/17.05.92)/
Joel Cassells (Oxford Brookes Uni BC/Coleraine/15.06.94)
Coach: Mark Earnshaw

Single Scull

Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft RC/Cardiff/05.02.91)
Coach: Hamish Burrell


For media enquiries about this event please contact:

Caroline Searle or Miranda Edwards: [email protected] or 01225 384 211 – PLEASE NOTE NEW NUMBER or 07831 755351

GB Rowing Team website, including full rower biogs:

Follow us on: