Junior men’s eight becomes third GB Rowing Team boat to qualify for World Junior finals

The GB Rowing Team’s junior men’s eight won their repechage today and qualified for Sunday’s final at the World Junior Championships in Racice, Czech Republic.

Racing in torrential rain, they led throughout ahead of the Czechs, who also qualify, and the Canadians.

The junior men’s eight join the already-qualified junior women’s eight and junior men’s four who reached finals by way of winning their heats yesterday.

GB has another chance of reaching the finals with the junior men’s quadruple scull racing in tomorrow’s semi-finals.

The men’s coxed four were narrowly squeezed out of a semi-final place today when they finished fourth in their repechage. Only three boats progressed.

=============================== ===============================
(Events featuring GB Rowing Team crews only.  For full
results:  www.worldrowing.com)



1.  Thomas Hilton/Greg Edwards/William Mace/Thomas Stewart/
     James Cook/William Locke/Morgan Hellen/George Rossiter/
     Ed Mosson (cox) (GREAT BRITAIN) 5:47.01
2.  Czech Republic 5:48.80
3.  Canada 5:49.06
4.  Spain 5:59.88
5.  Ukraine 6:05.35

Coxed Four

1.  Germany 6:42.07
2.  South Africa 6:44.82
3.  Serbia 6:45.98
4.  Inigo Atkin/James Powell/William Kenworthy/Alastair Camm
     (GREAT BRITAIN) 6:48.33
5.  Poland 6:50.37

=============================== ===============================
World Junior Championships, 5-8 August
Racice, Czech Republic
(club or school name in brackets)




Rosa Atkinson (Runcorn RC)
Yasmin Tredell (Gloucester RC)
Fiona Gammond (Headington School Oxford BC)
Beth Astell (St Neots RC)
Ruth Whyman (Gloucester RC)
Camilla Hadland (Stratford-upon-Avon BC)
Georgia Howard-Merrill (Headington School Oxford BC)
Phillippa Neill (St Neots RC)
Lily van den Broecke (cox) (Headington School Oxford BC)

Coach:  Ryan Demaine (Headington School Oxford BC)


Quadruple Scull

Angus Groom (Walton RC)
Jack Beaumont (Maidenhead RC)
Wilf Kimberley (Westminster School BC)
Marcus Bowyer (Exeter RC)

Coach: Tom Jost (Maidenhead RC)


Callum McBrierty (George Watsons College BC)
Caspar Jopling (Eton College BC)
Jack Shepherd (Molesey BC)
Edward Nainby-Luxmoore (Eton College BC)

Coach:  Colin Greenaway (Hampton School BC)

Coxed Four

William Kenworthy (Eton College BC)
Inigo Atkin (Kings School, Chester RC)
James Powell (Bedford Modern School BC)
Rowan Lawson (Eton College BC)
Alastair Camm ((Eton College BC)

Coach: Nick de Cata (Walton RC)


Thomas Hilton (St Pauls School BC)
Greg Edwards (Bedford Modern School BC)
William Mace (Tees RC)
Thomas Stewart (Radley College BC)
James Cook (Abingdon School BC)
William Locke (Eton College BC)
Morgan Hellen (Maidstone Invicta RC)
George Rossiter (Abingdon School BC)
Ed Bosson (cox) (Radley College BC)

Coaches:  Richard Boulton (GB Rowing Team) and
John Gearing (Radley College BC)

Support Team

Lead coach: Richard Boulton (GB Rowing Team)
Team Manager:  John Layng (Emanuel)
Equipment Manager: Bret King
Doctor:  Lucy Free
Physio:  Rachel Burr

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!