GB Rowing Team name Coupe de la Jeunesse squad

The GB Rowing Team will be sending a full team to the Coupe de la Jeunesse, taking place in Szeged, Hungary from July 31 to August 2.

The European team competition has an emphasis on U17s, with the trophy going to the nation with the most points. Britain – who will field 51 rowers in 13 boats this year – has won on 12 previous occasions, the last time being in 2013.

Alex Slabbert is in the junior women’s squad, 12 months after twin sister Megan competed in the Coupe. She goes in the four and the eight, joined in both by Georgia Mulraine (Sir William Borlase’s BC) who was a spare last year.

Izzy Lingard (Headington School BC), who was in the eight in 2014, will compete in the women’s quad alongside Lola Anderson (Surbiton High School BC), Robyn Armstrong (Bedford Girls School RC) and Lucy Glover (Warrington RC).

Also competing in the Coupe for a second year is Gloucester Hartpury’s Alice Bowyer, who moves from the double scull to single scull. She was part of the Gloucester RC quad that won the Diamond Jubilee Challenge Cup at the recent Henley Rowing Regatta.

Five members of the St Paul’s School BC eight that won the Princess Elizabeth Challenge Cup at Henley have been named in the GB squad.

Alfred Jacquemot and Marco Hughes will contest the men’s pair, Bertie Woodward-Fisher is in the four and Seb Benzecry and Harry Gething go in the eight.

Oskar Arzt-Jones, who was in the Westminster School eight that reached the Princess Elizabeth final, is also in the four.

CREW LISTS (Includes club, date of birth)

GB Rowing Team for Coupe de la Jeunesse
Szeged, Hungary, July 31-August 2



Tilly Catlin (St Edward’s School BC)
Holly Wicklow (Glasgow Academy)
Coach: Iain Somerside (Glasgow Academy)


Kelsey Stoddart (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Alex Slabbert (Molesey BC)
Lydia Currie (Headington School BC)
Georgia Mulraine (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Coach: Bethan Thomas (Headington School BC)


Tilly Catlin (St Edward’s School BC)
Holly Wicklow (Glasgow Academy)
Kelsey Stoddart (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Alex Slabbert (Molesey BC)
Lydia Currie (Headington School BC)
Georgia Mulraine (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Emma Andrews (Putney High School RC)
Izzy Lingard (Headington School BC)
Kate Little (cox) (Headington School BC)
Coaches: Bethan Thomas (Headington School BC), Iain Somerside (Glasgow Academy)

Single scull

Alice Bowyer (Gloucester Hartpury)
Coach: Will Stockton (Gloucester Hartpury)

Double scull

Erica Holmes (Marlow RC)
Laura McDonald (George Watson’s College BC)
Coach: Harry Lyons (Sir William Borlase’s BC)

Quadruple scull

Lola Anderson (Surbiton High School BC)
Robyn Armstrong (Bedford Girls School RC)
Lucy Glover (Warrington RC)
Izzy Lingard (Headington School BC)
Coach: Lewis Sloan (Windsor Boys’ School BC)


Emma Andrews (Putney High School RC)


Marco Hughes (St Paul’s School BC)
Alfred Jacquemot (St Paul’s School BC)
Coach: Mike Hennessey (St Paul’s School BC)

Will Stewart (Molesey BC)
Dom Jackson (Hampton School BC)
Bertie Woodward-Fisher (St Paul’s School BC)
Oskar Arzt-Jones (Westminster School BC)
Coach: Ashley Carter (Dulwich College BC)

Coxed four
David Bewicke-Copley (Eton College BC)
Harry Higginbottom (The King’s School, Chester RC)
Alex Slater (The King’s School, Chester RC)
Francois Gouws (Eton College BC)
Akil Hashmi (cox) (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Coach: James Loveday (Thames RC)

Seb Benzecry (St Paul’s School BC)
James Newton (Radley College BC)
Ben Wright (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Max Townley (Abingdon School BC)
Oli Ayres (Molesey BC)
Harry Gething (St Paul’s School BC)
Angus Bolton (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Jens Clausen (Hampton School BC)
George Cozens (cox) (Eton College BC)
Coach: Sam Grant (Eton College BC)

Single scull

Oli Dix (Leicester RC)
Coach: Howard Marsh (Leicester RC)

Double scull

Rory Harris (Pangbourne College BC)
George Lawton (Northwich RC)
Coach: Jed Barlow (Northwich RC)

Quadruple scull

Jono Cameron (Claire’s Court School BC)
Sam Champion (Cambridge ’99 RC)
Thomas Mortimer (Leander Club)
Harry Oliver (The Windsor Boys’ School BC)
Coach: Tom Jost (Claire’s Court School BC)


James Lambton-Heys (Leander Club)


For background information about the The GB Rowing Team contact the Press office via [email protected] or 07831 755351

For picture requests please contact: [email protected]

GB Rowing Team website, including full rower biogs:

Follow us on:



THE GB ROWING TEAM is supported by the Lottery through UK Sport.

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!