GB v France crews announced today

The GB Rowing Team crews for the annual GB v France match at junior U16 level have been announced today.

A total of 13 crews have been named with 27 junior men and 22 junior women in the list plus two spares to race at the annual contest, taking place this year on 13 July in Nantes, France. GB will be looking to repeat their victory of last year.

The junior women’s eight is from Henley Rowing Club after their strong showing in the trials. This up and coming club for women’s rowing has had a great year so far with wins at National Schools, the Schools Head and women’s Henley. The coach of the eight will be Dave Lister whose daughter Rebecca is in the crew.

A Scottish contingent is represented in the junior women’s four and double and junior male single sculler Joshua Armstrong.

Traditionally-strong rowing schools are well represented with Hampton, Westminster, Eton and Sir William Borlase all providing multiple selected rowers.

The Royal Grammar School in High Wycombe, more renowned for its rugby teams than rowing crews, will represent GB with a quad coached by Geoff Baker. The quartet raced at Henley in the second round of the Fawley Challenge Cup today.

This annual team match, held alternately in the UK and France, is a club-based event and provides a good target for clubs to put crews together. The nation who wins the most events wins the match.


JM 1x Joshua Armstrong Glasgow Academy
Coach Iain Somerside, Glasgow Academy

JM 2x James Mawby Nottingham RC
Faisan Shah Nottingham RC
Coach Jo Fitzsimons, Nottingham RC

JM 4x James Beagles High Wycombe RGS
Alasdair Butler High Wycombe RGS
Sam Williams High Wycombe RGS
Nick Davison High Wycombe RGS
Coach Geoff Baker, High Wycombe RGS

JM 2- Edward Nunn Great Marlow School
Ross Honey Great Marlow School
Coach Fergus Murison, Great Marlow School
JM 4- Lewis Owens Hampton School
Tom Long Hampton School
Jens Clausen Hampton School
Charlie Sandford Hampton School
Coach Andy Cook, Hampton School

JM 4+ Oswald Stocker Westminster School
Nick Plaut Westminster School
Jonathan Edwards Westminster School
Oskar Arzt-Jones Westminster School
Matthew Holland Westminster School
Coach Nick Wilde, Westminster School

JM 8+ Ollie Lewis Sir William Borlase’s BC
Angus Bolton Sir William Borlase’s BC
Alex Spicer Sir William Borlase’s BC
Joel Watson Sir William Borlase’s BC
Theodore Weinberger Eton College
Benedict Aldous Eton College
David Bewicke-Copley Eton College
Oscar Lindsay Eton College
George Cozens Eton College
Coach Sam Grant, Eton College

JM 1x James Plaut Westminster School

JW 1x Lola Anderson Surbiton High School
Coach Stewart Walker, Surbiton High School

JW 2x Katy McDonald George Watson’s College BC
Laura McDonald George Watson’s College BC
Coach Helen Blevins, George Watson’s College BC

JW 4x Danielle Semple Headington School
Maya Nickituk Headington School
Rosie Little Headington School
Lydia Currie Headington School
Coach Tom Springbett, Headington School

JW 2- Katie Bruce Sir William Borlase’s BC
Ellen Roberts Sir William Borlase’s BC
Coach Ryan Haines, Sir William Borlase’s BC

JW 4- Alex Rankin Glasgow Academy
Holly Wicklow Glasgow Academy
India Somerside Glasgow Academy
Rebecca Neilson Glasgow Academy
Coach Mary Massaro, Glasgow Academy

JW 8+ Lauren Edwards Henley RC
Maddie Orr Henley RC
Ellie Thompson Henley RC
Hattie Orr Henley RC
Ella Morgan Henley RC
Lily Stimpson Henley RC
Clare Pearson Henley RC
Florence Wiggins Henley RC
Rebecca Lister Henley RC
Coach Dave Lister, Henley RC

JW 1x Emma Lister Henley RC

TM CD Riches, Westminster
Lead Coach John Moon, Hampton
Co-Driver Sean Boret, Hampton
Assistant TM Kate Callaghan, Haberdashers Monmouth
Physio Andy Knee-Robinson