GB Rowing Team world U23 squad announced today

The GB Rowing Team for this year’s World U23 Championships, taking place from July 22-25 in Brest, Belarus, has been named today.

For the selected GB men’s four, this means the selection of four men who have all previously won world junior gold in this boat – Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell in 2006, Matthew Rossiter and George Nash together in 2007 and Constantine Louloudis in 2009.

Reilly-O’Donnell, a law graduate, has also featured this year in the GB senior men’s eight at world  cup level.

The men’s eight has two former Australian Youth Olympic festival gold medallists on board in  Will Satch and Matt Tarrant. Anthony Locke,  in the seven-seat, was also a world junior men’s four gold medallist in 2006 whilst Henry Fieldman, the cox and a Zoology student, steered this boat to a world U23 bronze medal last year.

Monica Relph, named today in the women’s four, had a spell last year in the women’s senior eight before winning world U23 eight gold.  Relph was identified into the sport by Project Oarsome.

Kat Copeland races the lightweight women’s double scull with Charlotte Burgess. Copeland, from Yarm School, was an U23 single scull finalist last year whilst still at school. Rachel Gamble-Flint, from the same school, races in the women’s quad in Belarus. She will be looking to banish memories of 2009 when she was  forced out of the single scull final by injury after a strong semi-final performance.

Kieren Emery, meanwhile, races in the lightweight men’s double scull with Ben Rowe – the latter being a recruit to the sport through the Siemens-sponsored and lottery-backed Start programme. Emery, from Leander Club, previously won world junior men’s four gold in 2007 and has been mentored by Wade Hall-Craggs the Durham University coach. His world junior gold in 2007 was won with Rossiter and Nash. Rowe is from Yarm School and is part of a strong North-East group of rowers who have come into national contention in recent years.

Northern Ireland’s Peter Chambers, who raced at GB senior level in the single scull at the Munich world cup, has also been  named for this boat in the squad.

Finally, the lightweight men’s four includes three men – Jonno Clegg, Will Fletcher and David Jones  – who all won World U23 bronze last year in the lightweight men’s quad.  They are joined this time round by Jamie Kirkwood.

Former GB senior rowers Nick Strange, Steve Trapmore –  2000 Sydney Olympic men’s eight gold winner – and Henry Bailhache-Webb are amongst the coaching team with Steve Gunn, 1992 Olympic gold medal coach, as team manager.

=============================== ===============================
World U23 Championships, Brest, Belarus
22-25 July, 2009
(listed from bow to stroke with club/home town/d.o.b.)




Jenny Arnold (Durham University/Wargrave/6.2.90)/
Monica Relph(Nottingham RC/Cambridge/15.1.88)/
Lottie Howard-Merrill (Sport Imperial/Oxford/15.11.89)/
Polly Swann (Glasgow RC/Edinburgh/5.6.88)

Coach:  Neasa Folan

Single scull

Rosamund Bradbury (Jesus College/Banstead/17.12.88)

Quadruple scull

Ruth Walczak (Molesey BC/Rochdale/15.9.88)/
Georgie Hazell (Reading Uni/Hook, Hants/2.12.88)/
Vicki Meyer-Laker (Nottingham RC/Insch, Aberdeenshire/18.3.88)/
Rachel Gamble-Flint (Yarm School/Darlington/13.9.91)

Coach: Nick Strange



Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell (Uni of London/Durham/13.4.88)/
Matthew Rossiter (Durham Uni/Newbury/25.9.89)/
George Nash (Cambridge Uni/Guildford/2.10.89)/
Constantine Louloudis (Eton College/London/15.9.91)

Coach: Chris Collerton


Karl Hudspith (Oxford Brookes Uni/Twickenham/31.3.88)/
Will Satch (Leander/Henley-on-Thames/9.6.89)/
Matthew Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Uni/Shepperton/11.7.90)/
Calum Wright (Molesey BC/Esher, Surrey/10.2.89)/
Frazer Brent (Molesey BC/Cobham, Surrey/23.12.88)/
Scott Durant (Oxford Brookes Uni/Lancaster/12.2.98)/
Anthony Locke (Leander & Harvard/Newbridge, I.O.W/30.10.88)/
Mike Evans (Princeton &Leander/23.8.90)/
Henry Fieldman (cox) (Imperial College/Barnes, London/25.11.88)

Coach: Henry Baillhache-Webb

Coxed four

Andy Holmes (Molesey BC/Lochwinnoch/4.10.91)/
Tom Clark (Leander/Worcester/28.1.89)/
Ertan Hazine (Wallingford/Maidenhead/1.8.91)/
Patrick Lapage (Harvard/16.7.90)/
Max Gander (cox) (Uni of London/Oxford/26.1.90)

Coach:  Ben Lewis

Quadruple scull

John Collins (Reading Uni/24.1.89)/
Jonny Walton (Loughborough Uni/Leicester/6.10.90)/
Nick Middleton (Leander/12.8.88)/
Jack Hockley (Leander/High Wycombe/5.10.89)

Coach: Paul Stannard



Double scull

Kat Copeland (Uni of London/Stockton-on-Tees/1.12.90)/
Charlotte Burgess (Reading Uni/Bedford/25.6.90)

Coach: Eira Parry


Single scull

Peter Chambers (Oxford Brookes/Coleraine/14.3.90)

Coach:  Pete Sheppard

Double scull

Ben Rowe (Tees RC/Middlesbrough/5.11.88)/
Kieren Emery (Leander/Newcastle-upon-Tyne/1.6.90)

Coach:  James Harris


David Jones (Leander/Maidenhead/8.7.88)/
Jono Clegg (Leander/Maidenhead/14.7.89)/
Will Fletcher (Durham Uni/Chester-le-Street/24.12.89)/
Jamie Kirkwood (Imperial College/Northumberland/30.8.89)

Coach: Rob Dauncey

Quadruple scull

Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft RC/Cardiff/5.2.91)/
Sam Scringeour (Glasgow RC/Forfar, Angus/28.1.88)/
Jamie Watson (Durham Uni/Windsor/18.7.88)/
Carl Delaney (Nottingham RC/Wallingford/7.3.88)

Coach: Steve Trapmore

Support Team

Steve Gunn, Team Manager
Peter Sheppard, Chief Coach U23 & Juniors
Michelle Earby, Doctor
Abbie Turner, Physio
Andy Knee-Robinson, Equipment manager
Dez Atkins, Driver

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!