Victory for GB over France at Junior International J16 Match

The 2019 GB vs France J16 or ‘cadet’ match took place on Thursday 11 July on the Holme Pierrepont lake at the National Water Sports Centre in Nottingham


GB juniors win the U16 v France match. Credit David Riches

Fifty-six junior rowers competed for Great Britain last Thursday as they claimed victory over France by 10 races to 4 in the two countries’ annual J16 match.

The 40th edition of the match will take place next year at the Water Sports Centre in Vaires-sur-Marne.


Junior women’s eight (JW8+)

1. Great Britain (Daisy Rolstone, Laoise O’Donohue, Natalie Schoenmakers, Josie Sawbridge, Mia Vickerman, Ursula Cornelius, Mary McWilliam, Alyeska Cook and Emilia Regan)

2. France

Junior men’s single scull (JM1x)

1. France

2. Great Britain (Harry Fletcher)

Junior women’s double scull (JW2x)

1. Great Britain (Trudie Marks and Claudia Rossington)

2. France

Junior men’s quadruple scull (JW4x)

1. Great Britain (William Kelly, Finn Regan, Albie Oliver, Gabriele Woolmer)

2. France

Junior women’s coxed four (JW4+)

1. France

2. Great Britain (Olivia Fisk, Emma Daniell, Amy Furlonger, Isabella Checkley and Amelie Hamilton)

Junior men’s coxless four (JM4-)

1. Great Britain (Ashley Geddes, Oscar Forbes, Archie Innes and Matthew Hughson)

2. France

Junior women’s single sculls (JW1x)

1. France

2. Great Britain (Zoë Scheske)

Junior men’s double sculls (JM2x)

1. Great Britain (Marlow DePeza-Purvis and Sam O’Connor)

2. France

Junior women’s quadruple sculls (JW4x)

1. Great Britain (Della Luke, Isabelle Cotten, Georgina Pollard and Holly Cookson)

2. France

Junior men’s coxed four (JM4+)

1. Great Britain (Nirav Tomasi, Oliver Ellis, Charles Cartisser, Manal Pandey and Caspar Griffin)

2. France

Junior women’s coxless four (JW4-)

1. Great Britain (Molly Fennell, Ella Marsh, Eloise Brindle and Molly Newman)

2. France

Junior men’s coxless pair (JM2-)

1. Great Britain (Wilder Fulford and Willem De mol van otterloo)

2. France

Junior women’s coxless pair (JW2-)

1. France

2. Great Britain (Emily Milne and Orla Johnson)

Junior men’s eight (JM8+)

1. Great Britain (Thomas O’Sullivan, Rehan Ackrim, Max Gillard, Deni Galay, Jasper Parish, Alexander Grundy, William Ferguson, Harry Stevens and Cal Gorvy)

2. France

Junior men’s reserve single sculls (JM1x)

1. Great Britain

2. France

Junior women’s reserve single sculls (JW1x)

1. France

2. Great Britain