Five returning medallists named in GB team for 2018 World Rowing Junior Championships

Thirty-three athletes will represent Great Britain at the World Rowing Junior Championships in Racice between 8-12 August


Reigning champions Calvin Tarczy and Douwe de Graaf return to the men’s four for the World Rowing Junior Championships as 33 athletes are selected to race for Great Britain in Racice.

GB’s Juniors enjoyed their best ever result 12 months ago in Trakai, winning two gold medals, a silver and a bronze to finish second in the medal table.

This year sees five medallists return to the squad: de Graaf and Tarczy in the men’s four, silver medallists Bryn Ellery and Victor Kleshnev in the men’s quad, and bronze medal winning cox Axel de Boissard in the men’s eight.

Lottie Orr and Phoebe Campbell return to the women’s quadruple sculls, having finished fourth last year and are joined by Georgie Robinson Ranger and Olivia Morgan.

James Cartwright and Jake Offiler, GB’s first gold medallists at the European Junior Championships earlier this year, join Ellery and Kleshnev in the quadruple sculls.

The World Rowing Junior Championships take place in Racice, Czech Republic, between 8-12 August.

Great Britain squad for the World Rowing Junior Championships

Women’s pair

Isabel Jonsson (Henley RC)
Bella O’Hara (Sir William Borlase’s BC)
Coach: Bret King (The Grange School)

Women’s four

Mia Andersen (Latymer Upper School BC)
Mary Wright (Henley RC)
Daisy Butterworth (Henley RC)
Lucy Pullinger (Headington School BC)
Coach: Ryan Demaine (Headington School BC)

Women’s double scull

Olivia von Stauffenberg (Latymer Upper School BC)
Natasha Strudwick (Marlow RC)
Coach: Chris Clark (Latymer Upper School BC)

Women’s quadruple scull

Lottie Orr (Henley RC)
Phoebe Campbell (Thames Tradesmen RC)
Georgie Robinson Ranger (Henley RC)
Olivia Morgan (Shiplake College)
Coach: Ade Roberts (GB Rowing Team)

Men’s pair

Miles Beeson (Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association)
Robert Powell (Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association)
Coach: Helen Taylor (Molesey BC)

Men’s four

Theo Darlow (Molesey BC)
Michael Dalton (Molesey BC)
Calvin Tarczy (St Pauls School)
Douwe de Graaf (St Pauls School)
Coach: Dave Currie (Shiplake College)

Men’s eight

Jake Swann (Westminster School)
Oliver Parish (St Paul’s School)
Max Shakespeare (Eton College)
Dominic Sullivan (Royal Shrewsbury School BC)
Connor Sheridan (Bedford School)
Oscar Olsen (Kings College School, Wimbledon)
Thomas Horncastle (St Paul’s School)
George Dickinson (St Paul’s School)
Axel de Boissard (St Paul’s School)
Coaches: Patrick Duggan (Kings College School, Wimbledon)/Antony Smith (St Pauls School)

Men’s double scull

Laurence Joss (Tideway Scullers School)
Joseph Adamson (Chester-le-Street RC)
Coach: Ben Jackson (Gloucester RC)

Men’s quadruple sculls

Bryn Ellery (The Windsor Boys School)
James Cartwright (Gloucester RC)
Jake Offiler (Globe RC)
Victor Kleshnev (Maidenhead RC)
Coach: Mark Wilkinson (The Windsor Boys School)

Support our sport with a Community membership

Our new Community membership supports those who support rowing with exclusive prizes, discounts and much, much more.

Join today!