GB Announces World Junior Champs Team

Great Britain has today announced 26 rowers in seven boats to compete at the World Junior Championships in Beijing from August 8-11th. The event doubles as the official test event for the Olympic Games next year.
Lottie Howard-Merrill, from Headington School, races once again in the girls’ four – an event in which she won a bronze medal this time last year when the Championships were in Amsterdam. She is joined in the 2007 crew by Abby Johnston who was a semi-finalist in the women’s pair in 2006.

Calum Wright, George Nash and cox Jack Plummer also compete at the event for a second time. The latter duo were part of the eight which so narrowly missed a medal 12 months ago, finishing fourth, whilst Wright was part of the coxed four.

Jack Morrissey, of Walton RC, and Philip Clapp, from Maidenhead RC, both make the step up into the world junior ranks having each won gold at last year’s Coupe de la Jeunesse – an international U16 event.

"This is an important event for us", explained the ARA’s International Manager, David Tanner, today.  "Not only is the World Junior Championships a first step on the competitive ladder for our young rowers but this year we will also be able to put Olympic venue through its paces and learn a lot for next year".

600 rowers from 50 nations are expected to participate. Racing will take place as follows:

Wednesday 8 August – heats
Thursday 9 August – repechages
Friday 10 August – semi-finals
Saturday 11 August – finals

For more information on the detailed timetable see:

=============================== ===============================
(Beijing, 8-11 Aug)
(NB – listed by athlete name followed by club in brackets).



Vicky Knight (Molesey BC)/Emily Piggott (Bedford High School)

Coach: Ryan Demaine (Headington School)


Abby Johnston (Lady Eleanor Holles School)/Joanna Fitzsimons (St Neots RC)/Lottie Howard-Merrill (Headington School)/Fiona Schlesinger (Lady Eleanor Holles School)

Coach: Martyn Rooney (St. Neots RC)

Single scull

Sarah Cowburn (Worcester RC)

Coach: Paul Sterckx (Worcester RC)


Pair, Four, Eight

14 rowers and one cox selected, further testing to determine final boats

Mathew Anker (The Oratory School)/Kieren Emery (Tyne RC)/James Clark (The Kings School, Chester)/Sean Dixon (George Watson’s College)/Andrew Finlay (The King’s School, Worcester)/Patrick Lapage (Shrewsbury School)/Rory McLeod (St Peter’s School)/Jack Morrissey (Latymer Upper School)/George Nash (Winchester College)/Jack Plummer (cox) (Eton College)/Matthew Rossiter (Abingdon School)/James Soane (St Paul’s School)/Matthew Tarrant (Walton RC)/Alasdair Were (Radley College)/Calum Wright (Molesey BC)

Coach: Mark Woodcock (Pair, The Oratory School), Richard Boulton (Four, ARA), John Gearing (Eight, Radley College)

Quadruple Scull

Andrew Ford (Henley RC)/John Preston (Yarm School)/Philip Clapp (Maidenhead RC)/Christopher Clark (Henley RC)

Coach: Paul Moss (Henley RC)

Reserve Single scull

Alexander Walker (Henley RC)

Coach: Tom Jost (Maidenhead RC)


Team Manager: John Layng
Assistant Team Manager: Jennifer Song
Doctor: Jamie McLeod
Physiotherapist: Jenny Conway
Physiologist: Craig Williams
Nutritionist: Jacqueline Birtwisle
Equipment Manager:  Bret King
Local Team Support (Mandarin Speaker): Dan Barry
ARA International Manager: David Tanner
ARA Chairman: Di Ellis

=============================== ===============================
For media enquiries about British Rowing please contact:

Caroline Searle

T:  (01225) 383518
M:  (07831) 755351

e:  [email protected]

GB Rowing website – full biogs available here.
=============================== ===============================

The GB Rowing Squad is supported by the National Lottery Sports Fund as part of UK Sport’s Podium Programme.

GB Rowing News bulletins are issued by British
International Rowing.